AVRSB Chair Acclaimed, Vice Chair Re-Elected

November 2, 2017
BERWICK, NS — Lavinia Parrish Zwicker has been acclaimed Chair of the Annapolis Valley Regional School Board (AVRSB). Ms. Parrish Zwicker was selected by her fellow Board members at the annual Board meeting on November 1, 2017. She has served as the AVRSB Chair since 2006 and brings 23 years’ experience as a school board member.
Following the selection of the Chair, Susan Ritchie was re-elected to the position of Vice Chair, and Sandy Fraser was re-elected as the third member of the Board Executive. Ms. Ritchie has served AVRSB as a Board member since 2004. This is her seventh term as Vice Chair. Mr. Fraser has been a Board member since 2008. This is his third term as a member of the Board Executive.
Upon her acclamation, Ms. Parrish Zwicker thanked the Board for the opportunity to serve as Chair. “Guided by our vision of Working Together for Students, my fellow board members and I will continue to support student success through strong collaborative working relationships.”
The members of the Annapolis Valley Regional School Board are:
- Peter Cromwell, African Nova Scotian Representative
- Nastasya (Tassa) Kennedy, Mi’kmaq Representative
- Gerald Burrell, Electoral District 1
- Susan Ritchie, Electoral District 2
- Sandy Fraser, Electoral District 3
- Donna Johnstone, Electoral District 4
- Jacqueline Foster, Electoral District 5
- Nancy Bigelow-Acker, Electoral District 6
- Charlene Davies, Electoral District 7
- Lavinia Parrish Zwicker, Electoral District 8
- Philip Van Zoost, Electoral District 9
- Patricia Parker, Electoral District 10
Full details on Board members’ electoral districts and the schools they serve are available at

Notify Me

To receive notification of school closings and other important announcements, please subscribe to our notification system.

Contact us

121 Orchard Street PO Box 340 Berwick NS Canada B0P 1E0
  • Toll Free: 800-850-3887
  • Phone: 902-538-4600
  • Fax: 902-538-4630

How to Find Us